University of Minnesota
Institute for Engineering in Medicine
http://iem.umn.edu/
612-626-3272

Unit's home page.

 

Core Members

PERSON EMAIL RESEARCH TOPICS
Akkin, Taner

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

akkin@umn.edu
Neuroimaging, Retina physiology, Optical imaging
Ashe, James

Professor of Neuroscience

ashe@umn.edu
Neural control, Motor learning, Neural modulation
Carey, James

Professor of Physical Therapy

carey007@umn.edu
Neural Control, Neuro-rehabilitation, Stroke,
Functional neural stimulation
Chen, Wei

Professor of Radiology

chenx075@umn.edu
Neural imaging, Functional MRI, MRS,
Brain metabolism/ bioenergetics/ function
Durfee, William

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

wkdurfee@umn.edu
Neural controls, Functional electrical stimulation,
Human-machine interactions
Ebner, Timothy

Professor of Neuroscience

ebner001@umn.edu
Neural control, Neural modulation, Neural imaging
Engel, Stephen

Professor of Psychology

engel@umn.edu
Neural imaging, Functional MRI, Cognitive neuroscience
Georgopoulos, Apostolos

Professor of Neuroscience and Neurology

omega@umn.edu
Neural control, Neural interfacing, MEG,
Neurophysiology, Cognitive neuroscience
Ghose, Geoffrey

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

geoff@cmrr.umn.edu
Visually guided behaviors, Cognitive neuroscience
Gillick, Bernadette

Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy

gillick@umn.edu
Neurodevelopment, Neuromodulation,
Non-Invasive brain stimulation
Haines, Stephen

Professor of Neurosurgery

shaines@umn.edu
Evaluation of new medical devices,
Non-invasive measurement of intracranial pressure
Harel, Noam

Associate Professor of Radiology

noam@cmrr.umn.edu
High field MRI, Neuroimaging, Deep brain stimulation,
Functional MRI (fMRI)
He, Bin

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Director of
  Center for Neuroengineering

binhe@umn.edu
Functional neuroimaging, Brain-computer interface,
Neural modulation, Neural modeling, Epilepsy
He, Sheng

Professor of Psychology

sheng@umn.edu
Visual neuroscience, Cognitive neuroscience,
Neural imaging
Henry, Thomas

Professor of Neurology, Director of Epilepsy Center

trhenry@umn.edu
Cardio, Clinical neurophysiology, Brain imaging,
Epilepsy
Johnson, Matthew

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

john5101@umn.edu
Neuromodulation, Neural interfacing, Neural modeling,
Movement disorders
Kersten, Daniel

Professor of Psychology

kersten@umn.edu
Visual neuroscience, Computational neuroscience,
Cognitive neuroscience, Neuroimaging
Kodandaramaiah, Suhasa

Assistant Professor in Mechanical Engineering

suhasabk@umn.edu
Neural interfacing, Neurotechnologies, Robotics
Krook-Magnuson, Esther

Assistant Professor of Neuroscience

ekrookma@umn.edu
Neuronal modulation, Networks, and Disorders
Lamperski, Andrew

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer
  Engineering

andyl@umn.edu
Neural control, Motor learning, Time Perception
Lim, Hubert

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

hlim@umn.edu
Neural prostheses, Auditory neuroscience, Plasticity
Lim, Kelvin

Professor of Psychiatry

kolim@umn.edu
Neural imaging, DT-MRI, Neural pathophysiology
Low, Walter

Professor of Neurosurgery

lowwalt@umn.edu
Neural stem cells, Neural tissue engineering
Netoff, Tay

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

tnetoff@umn.edu
Neural modeling, Neural sensing and imaging, Epilepsy
Parhi, Keshab

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

parhi@umn.edu
Neural signal processing, Neural modeling, Epilepsy
Redish, David

Professor of Neuroscience

redish@umn.edu
Neural interfacing, Neural control, Neural modulation
Sarah L. Swisher

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer
  Engineering

sswisher@umn.edu
Semiconductor materials and devices, Nanocrystal
synthesis and characterization, Flexible electronics,
Biomedical devices
Tranquillo, Robert

Professor of Biomedical Engineering

tranquillo@umn.edu
Neural tissue engineering
Van de Winckel, Ann

Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy

avandewi@umn.edu
Functional neuroimaging, Stroke, Neurorehabilitation,
Proprioception, Neural plasticity
Vinogradov, Sophia

Professor and Head of Department of Psychiatry

svinogra@umn.edu
Neuroengineering, Medical and Biological Imaging
Vitek, Jerrold

Professor of Neurology

vitek004@umn.edu
Pathophysiology of Parkinson's disease and dystonia,
Deep brain stimulation for neurologic and psychiatric
disorders, Neuromodulation, Mechanisms of deep brain
stimulation, Clinical movement disorders
Zhi Yang

Assistant Professor

yang5029@umn.edu
Neural sensing, Neural stimulation, Neural
instrumentation

 

Affiliate Members

PERSON EMAIL RESEARCH TOPICS
Denison, Timothy

Director of Neuroengineering, Medtronic
  Neuromodulation

timothy.denison@medtronic.com
Bi-directional neural interfacing, neuro-circuits,
brain machine interface
Worrell, Gregory

Director of Mayo Systems Electrophysiology
  Laboratory

Worrell.Gregory@mayo.edu
Systems electrophysiology, imaging, brain stimulation,
and data mining in human epilepsy