Core members

Name

Email

Research Areas

Netoff, Tay

Director of CNE           

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

tnetoff@umn.edu Neural modeling, Neural sensing and imaging, Epilepsy
Akkin, Taner

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

akkin@umn.edu

Neuroimaging, Retina physiology, Optical imaging

Ashe, James

Professor of Neuroscience

ashe@umn.edu

Neural control, Motor learning, Neural modulation

Carey, James

Professor of Physical Therapy

carey007@umn.edu

Neural Control, Neuro-rehabilitation, Stroke,

Functional neural stimulation

Chen, Wei

Professor of Radiology

chenx075@umn.edu

Neural imaging, Functional MRI, MRS,

Brain metabolism/ bioenergetics/ function

Durfee, William

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

wkdurfee@umn.edu

Neural controls, Functional electrical stimulation,

Human-machine interactions

Ebner, Timothy

Professor of Neuroscience

http://ebner001@umn.edu

Neural control, Neural modulation, Neural imaging

Engel, Stephen

Professor of Psychology

engel@umn.edu

Neural imaging, Functional MRI, Cognitive neuroscience

Georgopoulos, Apostolos

Professor of Neuroscience and Neurology

http://omega@umn.edu

Neural control, Neural interfacing, MEG,

Neurophysiology, Cognitive neuroscience

Ghose, Geoffrey

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

geoff@cmrr.umn.edu

Visually guided behaviors, Cognitive neuroscience

Gillick, Bernadette

Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy

gillick@umn.edu

Neurodevelopment, Neuromodulation,

Non-Invasive brain stimulation

Haines, Stephen

Professor of Neurosurgery

shaines@umn.edu

Evaluation of new medical devices,

Non-invasive measurement of intracranial pressure

Harel, Noam

Associate Professor of Radiology

            
noam@cmrr.umn.edu

High field MRI, Neuroimaging, Deep brain stimulation,

Functional MRI (fMRI)

Hayden, Benjamin

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

hayde138@umn.edu

The study of decision-making and executive control

He, Sheng

Professor of Psychology

sheng@umn.edu

Visual neuroscience, Cognitive neuroscience,

Neural imaging

Henry, Thomas

Professor of Neurology, Director of Epilepsy Center

trhenry@umn.edu

Cardio, Clinical neurophysiology, Brain imaging,

Epilepsy

Johnson, Matthew                 

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

john5101@umn.edu

Neuromodulation, Neural interfacing, Neural modeling,

Movement disorders

Kersten, Daniel                 

Professor of Psychology

kersten@umn.edu

Visual neuroscience, Computational neuroscience,

Cognitive neuroscience, Neuroimaging

Kodandaramaiah, Suhasa                 

Assistant Professor in Mechanical Engineering

suhasabk@umn.edu

Neural interfacing, Neurotechnologies, Robotics

Krook-Magnuson, Esther                 

Assistant Professor of Neuroscience

ekrookma@umn.edu

Neuronal modulation, Networks, and Disorders

Lamperski, Andrew                 

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer 
Engineering

andyl@umn.edu

Neural control, Motor learning, Time Perception

Lenglet, Christophe

Assistant Professor at CMRR, Radiology

clenglet@umn.edu

MRI, Computational Modeling, Neurodegenerative Disorders

Lim, Hubert                 

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

hlim@umn.edu

Neural prostheses, Auditory neuroscience, Plasticity

Lim, Kelvin                 

Professor of Psychiatry

kolim@umn.edu

Neural imaging, DT-MRI, Neural pathophysiology

Low, Walter                 

Professor of Neurosurgery

lowwalt@umn.edu

Neural stem cells, Neural tissue engineering

Opitz, Alex

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

aopitz@umn.edu

Transcranial Magnetic stimulation

Computational modeling

Parhi, Keshab

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

parhi@umn.edu

Neural signal processing, Neural modeling, Epilepsy

Redish, David

Professor of Neuroscience

redish@umn.edu

Neural interfacing, Neural control, Neural modulation

Schrater, Paul

Associate Professor, Departments of Psychology and Computer Sciences and Engineering

schrater@umn.edu

Bayesian (Belief) Networks, Dynamic Markov Decision Networks, Pattern Theory, Machine Learning, and other topics in statistics and pattern recognition

Sarah L. Swisher

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer  Engineering

sswisher@umn.edu

Semiconductor materials and devices, Nanocrystal

synthesis and characterization, Flexible electronics,

Biomedical devices

Tranquillo, Robert

Professor of Biomedical Engineering

tranquillo@umn.edu

Neural tissue engineering

Van de Winckel, Ann

Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy

avandewi@umn.edu

Functional neuroimaging, Stroke, Neurorehabilitation,

Proprioception, Neural plasticity

Vinogradov, Sophia

Professor and Head of Department of Psychiatry

svinogra@umn.edu

Neuroengineering, Medical and Biological Imaging

Vitek, Jerrold

Professor of Neurology

vitek004@umn.edu

Pathophysiology of Parkinson's disease and dystonia,

Deep brain stimulation for neurologic and psychiatric

disorders, Neuromodulation, Mechanisms of deep brain

stimulation, Clinical movement disorders

Zhi Yang

Assistant Professor

yang5029@umn.edu

Neural sensing, Neural stimulation, Neural

instrumentation